ESPI Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is made up of experts from across Europe’s space sector and related policy and economic domains.

ESPI Advisory Council meets at least twice a year provides the ESPI Secretariat with medium-term orientations with respect to the activities of the Institute.

Read the letter from our former and current Advisory Council Chairs in our 2023 Annual Report here.

In 2024, our Advisory Council welcomed 6 new personalities with unique background and experience. Read the story about this evolution here.

  • Etienne Schneider Chair, Former Deputy Prime Minister of Luxembourg
  • Marek Banaszkiewicz Former President of the Polish Space Agency
  • Samantha Cristoforetti ESA Astronaut, member of the European Astronaut Corps
  • Major General Michel Friedling (Ret.) Former French Space Commander
  • Peggy Hollinger International Business Editor at the Financial Times
  • Fritz Merkle Former Chief Technical Officer at OHB
  • Margit Mischkulnig Head of Dept. for Space Affairs at the Austrian Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology
  • Niklas Nienaß Member of the European Parliament
  • Sinéad O’Sullivan Economist at Harvard Business School’s Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness
  • Walther Pelzer Director General of the German Space Agency at DLR
  • Magali Vaissière President of the IRT Saint Exupéry and Member of the Ministerial Space Steering Committee of France 2030
  • Lord David Willetts Chair of UK Space Agency and President of Resolution Foundation

Advisory Council

Contact us

Are you looking for more information or do you have a question about our work or activities?

Send us a message

Stay connected with us

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and updates.

"*" indicates required fields

Join our newsletter to receive the latest news and updates

"*" indicates required fields